Port Adelaide Football Club (AFL & SANFL)

The Port Adelaide Football Club is a professional Australian rules football club based in Alberton, South Australia, which plays in the Australian Football League (AFL) and the South Australian National Football League (SANFL). Port Adelaide is the older of the two clubs in South Australia playing in the AFL and the 5th oldest club playing in the Australian Football League. Since the club’s first game on May 24, 1870, it has won 36 SANFL premierships, including six in a row. The club also won the Champions of Australia competition on a record four occasions.


From its foundation in 1870 to 1996, the Port Adelaide Football Club competed in the SANFL as the Magpies. In 1997, the club joined the Australian Football League—the only pre-existing non-Victorian club to have done so. On entry, Port Adelaide adopted a new nickname, “The Power”, along with the colour teal. Since joining the AFL, Port Adelaide have added the 2004 AFL Grand Final to their premiership wins.

Legal Enquiry

Need assistance?
Describe the matter and we’ll be in touch asap.

Legal Enquiry Form

News Subscription

Stay up to date.
Key legal developments, firm news and events.

Subscribe Now


Level 14, 100 King William Street
Adelaide SA 5000

CALL +61 8 8124 1811

Connect with us

© Copyright - DW Fox Tucker Lawyers - Commercial Lawyers Adelaide